Brecon Beacons (in the sun)

On a sunny Friday evening most people my age would be heading straight to a beer garden, however, after that taste of adventure on my walk around Wales, when I get the chance to go off for a bit of exploring I can’t resist. So last week, as soon as the clock hit 5 I jumped in the car (picked up my dog Teilo) and headed up the road to the Brecon Beacons.

Image

My plan: park at the foot of Pen y Fan and head west to the big, fun looking mountains in the distance. With a map, a tent and a bag full of food and water, the world was my oyster…until Monday 9 am.
Image

After walking up and over Fan Fawr and Fan Llia, with the sun dropping I pitched up to sit in my tent, cook dinner and enjoy the view.

Image

It took me a while to pick the right spot to enjoy the inevitable red sunset, but I found it.

Image

The next day it was over to the quiet side of the Beacons, climbing the exhausting Fan Nedd and then over to Fan Gyrhirych which I think has become my favourite mountain. While the view from the top isn’t quite as great as from some of the other mountains in the range, it’s the view of the mountain itself that is where the appeal lies. It softly rises up from the south, then creases and drops instantly, while it’s sides wrap around in a half crest. Like so….

Image

The views on top are still quite good actually….

Image

Image

On my way back to the car I passed a river that a few months before, in the cold of March, I had spotted as a great place for a bit of a dip. I then had vowed to come back when it warmed up a bit.
Though only a narrow river, the pool its waterfall has created is at least 5ft deep. Crystal clear. I couldn’t resist going in… and it wasn’t in the slightest bit cold.

Image

Then it was back to Cardiff, back to work to lie in wait for another sunny weekend.

If you’d like to read about another one of my weekend trips to the Brecon Beacons you can here, but I wouldn’t. It was winter and it was really cold, wet and miserable in comparison to this trip.

