Wales Coast Path: Beaches

Its really cold now. Summer suddenly feels like a long time ago.
So join me in last summer nostalgia by looking at the pictures of beaches I took on my walk around Wales.
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Red Wharf Bay on the eastern coast of Anglesey. The beach at low tide supposedly has an area of ten square miles meaning it took an eternity to cross. Thankfully, I was rewarded by the Ship Inn at its end.
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Llanddwyn Bay on Anglesey’s western shore. I had been battered by terrible rain and wind for three days and was relieved to see that dark cloud finally moving away from me.
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Llanbedrog, on the southern coast of the Lleyn Peninsula. The mountains of Snowdonia can just be seen in the distance.
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Looking back down the Peninsula from Portmeirion village.
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Glancing back over my shoulder from Harlech as I began making my way south.
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Borth beach where I met two people from the Norwegian Financial Times. I was interviewed and posed for photos in return for food….pub food.
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

The old harbour at the Parrog in Newport, Pemrokeshire. I have holidayed there all my life so it was hugely satisfying to have walked all the way to it (the very long way round).
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Cwm-yr-Eglwys, Pembrokeshire. One of the many places I couldn’t resist a dip.
Whitesands, St Davids. In my opinion, this is the best beach in Wales. I camped nearby so had the beach to myself when I walked across it in the morning. From the hill you can see above it, there are amazing views of Ramsey Island.
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

The sheltered harbour and village of Solva, Pembrokeshire. Little village, lots of pubs…and good ones at that.
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

St Brides, Pembrokeshire. A hidden gem.
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Passing Barafundle Bay in southern Pembrokeshire. I was now heading eastward, in the direction of home.

Tenby harbour, on my way out of Pembrokeshire. I had been well and truly soaked that day. I remember wringing my socks out and hanging them on the railings, much to the amusement of passing tourists.
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Well posed sheep. Looking back towards Llangennith from Rhossili, Gower. While Wales has many quiet and quaint beaches, it also seems to have numerous mammoth ones as well.
This is the most dramatic of them all and a good one to save til the end as three days later I was back home having completed my circumnavigation of Wales.
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

While I tried to include as many pictures in this blog post as possible, I still left an endless amount out- it was hard to be so discriminatory to some of the other fantastic beaches I passed! 
If you would like to see these unjustly shunned pictures, you can view them on my twitter page @WillWalksWales.

